Barton Petroleum logo

Fill in the details below and we will find your local depot so you can obtain the latest heating oil prices

How many litres? (min. 500)

First part of postcode (e.g. NN1)

FPS Expo 2019 logo. Source FPS

The search has started in earnest across the UK and Republic of Ireland to find the best tanker driver and fuel distribution depot by liquid fuels trade association, The Federation of Petroleum Suppliers (FPS), as part of their annual awards celebrations.

The 2019 OAMPS Hazardous Industries sponsored Driver of the Year and The QBE Insurance sponsored Depot of the Year competitions are two prestigious annual awards which set out to celebrate the best in the industry.

The criteria for entering the Driver and Depot of the Year awards is that your company must be a member of the Federation of Petroleum Suppliers and for the Driver of the Year Award, judges are looking for that driver who not only has an outstanding safety record but has gone that ‘extra mile’ for customers.  Whilst, the winner of the coveted Depot of the Year prize will have to show that they are the leaders in their field, setting the highest of standards or making the biggest improvements in health and safety and other operating procedures.

All depots that have been audited and passed by FPS Technical Manager Tony Brown under the FPS Depot Certification Scheme in the past 12 months are automatically entered into the Depot of the Year competition.

Tony Brown comments: “The audits cover 15 sections, including yard and tank storage, health and safety management, transport, and environmental management. In addition, as part of an audit, we examine how the depot is performing compared to the expected standards in the industry; the proactivity and knowledge of the depot staff and how up-to-date site maintenance records are”

FPS CEO Guy Pulham comments: “These awards give recognition to both drivers of fuel tankers and staff at fuel distributors for their hard work and dedication to meeting the high standards set by the legislative authorities.”

Graham Smerdon of sponsors OAMPS Hazardous Industries comments: “OAMPS Hazardous Industries are both proud and indeed privileged to continue our longstanding support and subsequent sponsorship of the FPS Driver of the Year Award.  All too often, throughout many other sectors, the good work done by employees goes unnoticed by their employers but this award presents an opportunity for drivers who’ve performed above and beyond the call of duty to be recognised and rightly rewarded”.

As well as the title of Driver of the Year, £1000 prize money and certificate, the 2019 winner will have their award presented at the FPS President’s Reception at FPS EXPO 2019 on Wednesday 15th May.

Applications for the Driver of the Year Award can be sent to the Federation of Petroleum Suppliers (FPS) before 11 March 2019 and application forms and more information can be obtained from Membership and Events Manager Dawn Shakespeare Tel 0121 767 1320 or

More information on the Depot of the Year Award and FPS Depot Certification scheme can be found on or FPS members can contact FPS Technical Manager Tony Brown via email or telephone 0121 767 1320.

Source: FPS Online

Barton Petroleum offer a friendly and reliable heating oil delivery service, click here for further information.